Occasionally I get questions about makeup and what I think are the essential items to have for someone who is starting to use makeup, So; I decided to make a picture post on what I think are the basic necessary items for begginers. Aside from this list I always recommend a good moisturizer preferably with some spf and always remember to wash your face properly before applying makeup to get rid of dirt and oils that you might have on your face.

Read more to see pictures…

First things first: Tools.
Now, while I’m not saying that you need to run and get all of these right away but there are things that you will want to have with time and as you grow more experienced with makeup you will have your own tricks and preferred tools.

  • Brushes: A powder brush, foundation brush, kabuki brush, eye shadow brush (you might want to have 2 or 3 of these in different shapes for application, blending, crease etc),  concealer brush (you can begin by using your foundation brush for concealer too), blush brush, and an eyebrow brush.
  • Tweezers: You gotta have a good eyebrows if you are putting so much effort on makeup.
  • Eyelash Curler
  • Makeup Sponges: I love these to fix mistakes and to apply makeup quickly when I’m on a hurry.
  • Makeup Remover:  I prefer sephora’s makeup remover but there are so many different makeup removers out there to choose from.

Loose Powder, Powder, Foundation or Powder Foundation


I personally prefer using powder foundation and loose powder but it’s always good to have liquid foundation when you want extra coverage.

Concealer

Concealer is key for hiding anything you want specially red spots, scars, spots etc. You will want to get one that is lighter than your skin tone. Sephora sells a great palette that has 4 basic concealer colors. Green Concealer is for redness and lilac concealer is for brightening yellow tones. If you have doubts always ask the store clerk.

Eyeshadow

It’s good to always have neutral tones and then colors of your choice. Coastal Scents makes a great and affordable palette that has everything from bight tones to neutral tones to earth tones.

Blush

A good natural blush is good for highlighting the cheeks and getting that natural flushed look.

Nude Lipstick

Although it’s fun to play with different shades of lipstick, I would say a nude lipstick is a must in every makeup bag. That, a rosy or coral tone and a darker shade for winter. Lipgloss or tinted lip balm in these tones is good too. Again, it’s about personal choice, I personally prefer lipstick❤

Mascara and Liner


Always important to finish off a look. Remember it doesn’t have to be very expensive to be good. Try different brands to see which one works best. For beginners  I recommend Maybelline’s Great Lash Mascara or Full n Soft Mascara they are always on my list. As for eyeliners you need to find one that works for you, they come in different styles: Cream, Pencil, brush and it’s up to you to figure out what you like best.

It’s always important to know that brushes need to be cleaned frequently and that you should never ever share makeup. If you have more questions, feel free to ask. I love answering them.

About jesuisblonde

I'm a 28 year old fashion designer who loves the ocean and London!
This entry was posted in beauty, beauty on a budget, Review, shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Mónica says:

    Thank you so much for this, it’s wonderful! I making a list with this article as a guide! I’m going to stop being lazy and saying I’m to busy and finally go to Sephora this Monday and much more prepared thanks to you😉.

  2. Kelly says:

    This is a great post!! I’m only recently starting to wear makeup, and buying my own things. But how do you know if a brush is good or of good quality? And where do you purchase your makeup brushes?
    Kelly

    • jesuisblonde says:

      I got my first set of brushes when I was on the 10th grade from Mary Kay and I still have them today🙂. When choosing a makeup brush you have to remember that expensive doesn’t always means it’s the best. When buying makeup brushes you have to check 3 things:

      -The hair (Natural and Synthetic) Natural hair is the best because it holds the powders best therefore it applies the make up more effectively. Synthetic is not that absorbent and will get stiffer in time while natural brushes will get softer. I personally prefer them to be softer although I have 3 or 4 stiffer ones for different things. When in doubt if a brush is good or not always run your hand through the brush to check if some pieces of hair come off. If this happens don’t get the brush, you don’t want your face filled with loose brush hair.

      -The Handle (These come in many materials; plastic, wood, acrylic etc) Most people prefer the handle to be a bit longer 5” + it’s just much more comfortable to hold.

      -The Ferrule (The metal part that holds the hair and attaches it to the handle) Make sure it’s not loose when you buy the brush.

      I have lots of varied brushes from different stores and even some fine flat/rounded paint brushes that I use for makeup. I have brushes from sephora, mary kay, elf cosmetics, Walgreens, and even some from costco :p I like trying different brands of brushes. Sephora has some great brush sets that have the basic ones and you can later on upgrade with loose brushes. I also greatly recommend e.l.f brushes they are really great!!

      Please let me know if you have more questions🙂

Leave a Reply

